Jesus, what a friend for sinners!

This is the title of a nice old hymn.. And sometimes when I feel I hardly have a true friend in the world, this song reminds me again and again of how sweet a friend Jesus is. Though I am a sinner and always keep falling and sometimes sinning, yet he is there with me all the time, meeting my smallest needs. He is indeed a true friend. In fact he is the only true friend of sinners!

“He was numbered with the transgressors; and he bare the sin of many, and made intercession for the transgressors.”—Isaiah 53:12.

When we were far away from God Jesus came to us, became one of us, took our sins and brought us with his precious blood and redeemed us. Now just as we can call Jesus, the friend of sinners, we can also call ourselves the friends of God because Jesus was ready to be known as the friend of sinners. And its amazing how true  a friend he is.. I pray that the Lord always keep me trusting and loving him and never ever to betray him even unknowingly!!

Jesus! what a Friend for sinners!
Jesus! Lover of my soul;
Friends may fail me, foes assail me,
He, my Savior, makes me whole.

Hallelujah! what a Savior!
Hallelujah! what a Friend!
Saving, helping, keeping, loving,
He is with me to the end.

Jesus! what a Strength in weakness!
Let me hide myself in Him.
Tempted, tried, and sometimes failing,
He, my Strength, my victory wins.

Jesus! what a Help in sorrow!
While the billows over me roll,
Even when my heart is breaking,
He, my Comfort, helps my soul.

Jesus! what a Guide and Keeper!
While the tempest still is high,
Storms about me, night overtakes me,
He, my Pilot, hears my cry.

2 thoughts on “Jesus, what a friend for sinners!

  1. Hey dude!
    I think you missed the point of my blog dealing with this subject. I agree with your post and the thoughts here, but I was nit-picking a sickening evangelical trend….but I still stick to my guns as far as my original intent goes…
    …blessings brother,
    mark jr.

Leave a Reply

